Google Chrome
News | 09/27/2018

Chrome Mirrors Your Login To Other Google Service

About: Google is not eliciting pretty good responses since the huge release of Chrome 69. It has already taken plenty of head & criticism for truncating the URLs. The another weird behavior of Chrome 69 was brought to light a week ago when users complained ...  Read More  

| News | Chrome Mirrors Your Login To Other Google Service

The huge release of Chrome 69 brought in many new features to the search giant. Google Chrome got applauded for the slick new theme, Auto-fill improvements & Password Generator, Built-in Ad blocker, colorful backgrounds & custom shortcuts on new tab page & much more!

Chrome Temp2

Despite the new features, Google has been a target of criticism and reproval from its users for omitting www and m sub-domains from the URL. The counterblasts compelled Google to soften its stance and consider public feedback, as stated in the Chromium bug tracker issue. Search Giant decided to roll back the changes made to Chrome 69; however, the reversal will persist till the release of Chrome 70.

Security experts & users are still up in arms after noticing another weird behavior of Chrome 69. Any Idea?

Another Weird Behavior of Chrome 69: Forced Logins

 

Imagine getting log in to Google Chrome Auto Sings without your consent while you log in to your Google account or any Google service? In simple words, if you login to Gmail or other service like YouTube, Google Plus, google chrome auto signs you in the local user account present in web browser. A mere click on the option “sync” gives Chrome a license to send your data back to Google. You will be sharing all your data with Google or with others, whether you want it or not!

Well, you can imagine the level of frustration one can reach after realizing that privacy of data and login credentials is undermined.

Matthew Green, a professor at Johns Hopkins University, was the first to outline the problem.

If you have upgraded to the newer version of Google Chrome, you will be automatically signed in to the Chrome whenever you login to any of the Google Services. The little user profile icon on the toolbar will change to your Google Account profile picture immediately.

Chrome Temp1

Following this illegitimate login, Chrome will begin to track down your browsing habits & other sensitive information. The new Google Chrome also incorporates multiple user accounts/profile feature which simply means you can use multiple accounts/profile to access Google Chrome. However, the local account can be used by Google Chrome to sync your browser data between your PC and Google Server.

On a positive note, if you sign in to Google Chrome from a different PC, all your stuff will be ready to use– including extensions, bookmarks, browsing history and even saved passwords! In contrary to that, the privacy of your data is at risk! Google can vacuum up your data through other linked accounts, such as YouTube, Maps & Gmail to target ads.

This change has framed Chrome as one of the Google Services, rather than a web surfing platform.

Google Chrome Auto Signs forced logins on Chrome 69 has made headlines for over a week. To which the Chrome engineer, Adrienne Porter Felt responded that the change was brought in to help the users who were facing problems on shared devices. Further she included that automatically signing in to the Chrome does not send the browsing history to your Google account.

Thankfully, you can disable this feature using Chrome’s advanced configuration page to turn off the signing link between local user account & Google account in Chrome:

Follow the steps given below:

1. Open Chrome Browser & type “chrome://flags/” in the URL bar.

2. Press Enter. The Advanced Configuration Page will open.

Chrome T13. Type identity in the Search Flags tab on the top of the page. It will open the option given below: “Identity consistency between browser and cookie jar”

Chrome T24. Click on the drop-down given in front of the option and select “Disabled”.

Chrome T3

5. A pop-up appears from the bottom of the page asking you to restart the browser. Click on “Relaunch Now” button to restart the Chrome browser.

Chrome T4

You can safely login to Gmail or other Google Services & Chrome will not login you into the local user account. To restore the new feature, you can select “Default” from the drop-down followed by restarting the browser.

 

Post this alteration, users can use the Chrome being stress-free; however, the new chrome privacy policy has raised questions on Google’s transparency about the change and taken plenty of heat for slurping up user’s sensitive data to target ads.

Hits: 209

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Did you find the article informative? Yes NO

Get Regular Updates Related to All the Threats

Want to stay informed about the latest threats & malware? Sign up for our newsletter & learn how to get rid of all types of threats from your computer.

Virus Removal Guidelines
Plot No 319, Nandpuri- B Pratap Nagar
Jaipur
Rajasthan 302033
Phone: +91 9799661866